A survey in time

So Mel, a lovely girl who I am yet to meet IRL but whose blog I love for  inspiring fashion, fitness and food posted up one of those surveys the other day…you know the ones you used to get emailed all the time when it was all the rage? I actually loved doing and receiving these…so here goes.

What time did get up this morning?
6.15  unfortunately, then a couple of snoozes before getting up for reals at 7.

Diamonds or pearls?
Diamonds! Can’t go past the sparkle

What was the last film you saw at the cinema?
Skyfall…it was amazing! My favourite Bond film ever (I have only ever seen 2..lol!) On another note, I’m really over seeing films at the movies. We saw this in Gold Class, but I still prefer luxury class i.e my couch. The below is a scene with one of my fave characters. Don’t want to spoil it so I won’t say who it is.

Skyfall trailer pic 6

(pic)

What is your favourite TV show?
Walking Dead, True Blood, Modern Family, Gossip Girl, The Wire (oldie, but only just getting around to it!) and hands down my fave comedy Arrested Development. If you haven’t seen it, do yourself a favour. Here’s one of my fave scenes

What do you usually have for breakfast?
Apricot & almond muesli, chopped strawberries and yoghurt. Nom

What is your middle name?
I don’t have one! If I hadn’t been a Selina, I would have been a Tanya or Tamara (bleh), so perhaps my mother would have chosen that? No clue.

What food do you dislike?
ummmm I eat everything. I don’t much like Chinese (except yum cha!)since it’s so greasy and oily, but I’ll still eat it.

What is your favourite CD at the moment?
Wow. Cd. I don’t think I’ve listened to a CD in ages…actually I play this 90’s CD I got as a sample for work over and over and over. Drives my hubby mad 🙂 Or I normally just listen to the one youtube clip over and over. Lately it’s been Hanging on by Active Child. It’s like drugs, can’t get over it. So very haunting.

What kind of car do you drive?
A little blue Yaris!

What characteristic do you despise?
People who are self absorbed,   and expect everything to be thought/done for them. I’ve also heard the characteristice you dislike in others mirror what you dislike about yourself,  so this worries me. lol

Favourite item of clothing?
My skinny dark jeans, my paperbag high waisted peg legged pants, Lester my sailor skull necklace

If you could go anywhere in the world on vacation, where would you go?
Europe or Egypt

Favourite brand of clothing?
Sportsgirl, Portmans, Karen Walker, Review, Leona Edmiston, Sheike, Alannah Hill, French Connection, Asos, Zara, Topshop (online)

Where would you retire to?
Wherever my family is.

What was your most memorable birthday?
Hmm. My 11th, 16th and 22nd. 11th was a big party at home with games like three legged race, pass the parcel etc. I remember sticking up a sun sticker someone brought me on my window. I got in trouble for it, but it’s still there today 🙂 16th was a big bash with horrible fashion I still cringe at and my 22nd was at Golden Century followed by clubbing.  My perfect party would be a picnic or a big beach bash, but on this side of the continent it’s always ghastly around July so it’s mostly spent indoors.

Favourite sport to watch?
Athletics, baseball, and tennis. Soccer too, but not so much for the game…in fact I don’t even think I know the rules.

Favourite makeup item?
My blush. It’s Nars – Orgasm, the best colour and blush ever invented. Can’t give this up even though I know it’s laden with evil things.

NarsBlushOrgasm(pic)

Favourite movie?
Dirty Dancing will always be my first love. Then there’s Children of Men, Gattaca, The Island, Minority Report, V for Vendetta, 28 Days franchise, I Am Legend, The Road, The Godfather, Scarface, Eastern Promises, Goodfellas. Oh, and Now & Then.

What star sign are you?
Cancer/Leo cusp. So I’m a bossy, overbearing emotional wreck. haha

Are you a morning person or a night person?
I love both. I’ve been known to stay up late watching movies or party hard into the wee hours, but I also love mornings and rarely sleep in, even if I’ve had a late night.

Pets?
Hmm. I have had many birds in the past, and some fish that I killed by accidently sticking my hands into the water (pH levels, so complicated). I love kittens and some dogs, but I’m also terrified of them and won’t really go anywhere near them. I really like Boston Terriers though, and Labs. From afar.

Any new and exciting news you’d like to share?
It’s Friday, which means I’m off for two weeks! YAY! And we’re also planning a trip to Europe next year, which is very exciting. Stockholm, Paris, Geneva, Italy and Madrid, Barcelona and Seville if we can fit it all in.

What did you want to be when you were little?
An archaeologist, a librarian, a barrister and then a marketer.  And what do I want to be when I grow up? Doing something I love, on my own terms.

How are you today?
I’m feeling really tired and worn down. I also have a blurry left eye which is very annoying. BUT I am also excited and feeling joyful. I love this time of year.

What is your favourite candy?
Haribo gold bears. Seriously.

What is your favourite flower?
I am really awful with flowers. I don’t know what their called!!! But I looove peonies. I considered changing the date of my wedding when I was told they wouldn’t be in season. I also love David Austen Roses, and white roses in general. I also love bougainvillea as it reminds me of my childhood, and the smell of jasmine reminds me of my yaya 🙂

268175352781236500_FMK8BKq8_c

Pic from Pinterest

What is a day on the calendar you are looking forward to?
25th of December, our big annual Christmas bbq!

What are you listening to now?
Work colleagues, printer, my bangles hitting the keyboard

What was the last thing you ate?
My muesli in the morning

Do you make wishes….
Not really. I pray for certain things, generally to do with health, family and happiness.

If you were a crayon, what colour would you be?
Yellow!

How is the weather right now?
Muggy and bit gloomy.

The first person you spoke to on the phone today
No one yet. I generally don’t talk to anyone on the phone, except my hubby, mum and sister.

Favourite soft drink?
Soda & tonic water, Lift.

Favourite restaurant?
This is a tough one. My faves are just locals with really good food- like the local sushi train we visit often, or my favourite ever pizza place …would have no clue what it’s called. I also really like Spice Temple, Rosso Pomodoro, Beach Burrito, Misschu, Temasek, Longrain and Piato.

Favourite colour?
Hmm this is tough. At the moment, turquoise. I love all bright colours and white, and just starting to like black.

57491332713466979_3u6tMQiN_c

(pic)

What was your favourite toy as a child?
I loved puzzles. I would sit for hours solving them. I also loved Lego. I didn’t really get Barbie. I was like..ok what do you do with them?? I used to like dressing them but that was about it.

Summer or Winter?
I love winter. Nothing better than being indoors with a blanket, hot tea or chocolate and a good book, mag or movie. I also love winter fashion like boots, coats, gloves and hats. I also love autumn.

Hugs or kisses?
Does one work without the other?

Chocolate or Vanilla?
Chocolate!

Coffee or tea?
Coffee. I really only drink tea when I’m at home and have had too much caffeine for the day. Otherwise it’s a cap with half sugar, iced coffee with no cream or ice cream or an affogato

When was the last time you cried?
Saturday morning in bed, when I read about the shootings in Connecticut. Then my hubby confiscated my phone so I couldn’t read any more.

What is under your bed?
Nothing. Probably an odd sock or a few dust bunnies. lol

What did you do last night?
Went to the shops to finish off my Christmas shopping, drove around and looked at some local Christmas lights 🙂 Then, I played Zeus on the computer…which is a realllly old city building game. I love city building games, and generally don’t play them since I get hooked pretty easily. I think my hubby knows this, and he ‘gifted’ me a whole pack via Good Old Games, probably to keep me out of his hair while he’s studying. haha. (I’m onto you)

What are you afraid of?
Death. Long term illness. Being unhappy.

Salty or sweet?
Salty. Give me a bag of chips and some pretzels and I’m a happy chappy.

How many years at your current job?
Just over 1.

Favourite day of the week?
Saturday or Sunday morning.

Do you make friends easily?
Yes, however I have a small handful of very close friends I would trust or turn to. Then there’s all my acquaintances.

What is your new year’s resolution?
To stop using the word ‘like’ everywhere & to stop having to finish all books I start. There is too little time in this life to read crappy books (or drink crappy coffee)

Your turn!

4 thoughts on “A survey in time

  1. You dont want to know what I thought ‘Yaya’ was…then I realised it’s your Grandma. We like the same TV shows & movies. Although I LOVE going to the cinema but save it for movies I really really really want to see (like advance screening of Les Miserables tonight)!!!! Seriously loved reading all of this! xx

Love to hear your thoughts!

