Recipe | Easy strawberry smoothie

I’ve been a little obsessed with smoothies lately. As in, the idea of making them, not so much the actual act of making them. I didn’t realise I already had the necessary equipment on hand to whip some up until…well, today. Faced with strawberries that were sure to spoil in the next few days, I pulled out my stick blender and decided to give it a go. And it worked!! I always thought you needed a regular blender or a food processor. I have a Braun multistick, which actually comes with a milkshake/smoothie attachment (you would think that was a dead giveaway?! I thought it was a measuring cup)

So here goes, my ultimate strawberry smoothie recipe. No added sugar and perfect for summer.

Image via here

Strawberry Smoothie

6 large strawberries
1/2 cup milk (I used lite white, you could probably use almond/soy)
1/2 cup vanilla ice cream
1/2 cup yoghurt (I used plain greek, you could probably use strawberry as well)
Blend strawberries and milk until strawberries break down.
Add yoghurt and ice cream to add thickness

This makes one large smoothie. The yoghurt gives it a smooth sweetness and adds thickness. The taste is pretty mild, but as my sister would say, I like ‘tasteless’ things 🙂 You can add more strawberries to increase the flavour, or cinnamon or vanilla could work too. Next time I’ll be blending in some ice cubes in as well to make it even more refreshing.

This recipe would also work well with any fruit – berries, peach, banana etc.

I don’t have a picture, because…well one thing led to another and before I knew it I scoffed down the whole thing. But it looked pretty close to this 🙂

Picture via here

If you have a tried & tested smoothie recipe, please leave the deets below!

2 thoughts on “Recipe | Easy strawberry smoothie

Love to hear your thoughts!

