Moo goo & my quest for natural skincare

The title of this post is quite miseleading. It’s not really MY quest for natural skin care as much as my sisters, but I am definitely strapped in and along for the ride.

A couple of years back, my sister warned me against the evils of parabens. Like any good younger sister, I nodded my head and started paying attention to the labels on my next trip to Priceline. Realising I didn’t actually know what a paraben was, I did some research of my own. It turns out that they are cheap but effective man made preservatives used in beauty products to fight bacteria & fungus. Oh, they’ve also been linked to breast cancer. Yup.

Visual representation of how I expect a paraben to look. Note: this is not an actual paraben.

On top of the parabens, most beauty products are laden with chemicals, artificial colourants, preservatives and who knows what else. For this reason, I switched to using natural skincare & make up where I can. Favourite brands over the years have included Akin, Sukin, Natural Instinct, Simple and now….Moo goo!

Since the birth of my niece, my sister has been searching for organic and natural solutions to the random issues that seem to come with a baby – flaking scalp, sensitivity etc. She tried a whole bunch of stuff, then came across this brand. It’s Australian owned and made of all natural ingredients- so natural, they say you can actually eat their products!

I’ve tested out both their ‘Full Cream’ and ‘Udder Cream’ and can vouch for both. The Full Cream – like the name suggests- is a creamier cream with more oils, while the udder cream is a lighter version.  Both go on really nicely, and have a pleasant smell. You can use their creams everywhere, including your face. The Full Cream retails for about $14.99 for a huge 250ml pot while the Udder Cream goes for around $11 for 120ml.

Image from the Moo Goo website

I trekked all around my workplace to track down the items, however I just realised they also have an online store, which outlines each and every ingredient in every product. I’m  hanging out to try their eye cream and cleansers, as well as their fake tan. I used to use fake tan each and every day (the gradual moisturising cream type) however was also turned off this practice by my sister. I’ve been looking pasty and pale ever since, but perhaps Moo Goo can come to the rescue?!

I also love their packaging, messaging and overall brand. It’s irreverent and isn’t afraid to poke a little fun at the industry & itself. For example, for the description of Aqua they write ‘When we were told that we have to call our purified water “Aqua” we thought they were kidding. But we can’t fight bureaucracy. So we aren’t trying to be fancy, but we do need to call our water “Aqua” sometimes.’

And whats with the name? Well, it turns out the founder of the range adopted a cream used on the ‘most valuable assets’ (udders) of their cows for a family member with sensitive skin…and the rest is history!

Unrelated, but makes me LOL

What’s your skincare routine? What are your fave products and what couldn’t you give up, parabens and all? (Mine is my blush- Nars Orgasm)

4 thoughts on “Moo goo & my quest for natural skincare

  1. Pingback: Natural Skin Care Recipes | Skin Care Tips

  2. Love your post. Lol I did not realise I turned you off self tanning. I turned you off sun bathing at some stage as well. We can be pasty together. If the tanning range in moogoo work well let me know.

Love to hear your thoughts!

