Recipe | The scrummiest of all crumbles

So my parents came over this weekend, and I needed the perfect dessert to polish off our BBQ. After flipping through a hundred cookbooks and mags, and driving my hubby insane, I settled on a fail proof carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. A colleague gave me this recipe and it’s ah-mazing.  Except, hubby politely pointed out, he doesn’t like carrot cake, and he most certainly does not like cream frosting. Oops.

Manically searching the interwebs, I came across Maggie Beer’s apple crumble, which happens to be easy, impressive looking and one of my hubby’s fave desserts. Win!

The recipe is super easy. You basically stew the apples with brown sugar, cinnamon and lemon zest. The hardest part was crumbling the crumble…it’s a good all over arm workout 🙂 

I didn’t know what verjuice was, and didn’t need another bottle hogging up precious pantry space so just added some nutmeg instead (my mind works in strange ways).

Some pics of the cooking process and the finished product below. The crumble ended up being perfectly crumbly (even though I used slightly less butter).  I made it ahead and simply reheated for 15 mins in the oven when we were ready to eat. This one is definitely going  into our family cookbook! Variations I’ll be trying are apple and pear and apple and rhubarb. Maybe even peach when they come into season.

Serve with vanilla ice cream and enjoy 🙂

Stewed apples ready to be topped with crumble.

Crumble & I

The finished product – perfectly golden and crunchy!

Destroyed!

4 thoughts on “Recipe | The scrummiest of all crumbles

Love to hear your thoughts!

